Growing the Green Way

This popular environmental education series offers Guilford County citizens a variety of landscaping and gardening classes that can help save time and money. Each class is offered at 4 locations.

Locations

  • NCCE: NC Cooperative Extension, 3309 Burlington Road
  • GML: Glenn McNairy Branch Library, 4860 Lake Jeanette Road
  • AE: Greensboro Arboretum Education Building, 401 Ashland Drive
  • KCE: Kathleen Clay Edwards Library, 1420 Price Park Road

    Classes are free but registration is reguested. Programs are designed to be approximately one hour long, but may run longer depending on questions and discussion -- which is encouraged!

PLANNING THE 3-SEASON VEGETABLE GARDEN

Vegetable gardening is especially productive in the Piedmont because we can grow food at least 10 months of the year! The key is good planning and succession planting. January is the perfect time to start getting ready; let’s talk about how to get the most out of your personal planting space.

Date Location Time To Register
Tues., Jan. 10 NCCE 6:30 pm

Click here to sign up.

Thurs. Jan. 12 GML 6:30 pm
Sun., Jan 15 AE 4:00 pm
Wed., Jan 18 KCE 6:30 pm

 

PROPER PRUNING PREVENTS POOR PLANT PERFORMANCE

The art of pruning is not the same thing as using electric shears to turn shrubs into green meatballs (yikes!). We'll discuss the tools, techniques and timing for pruning small ornamental trees and shrubs, and how doing it properly is the easy way to have healthier, prettier, and longer-lived plants.

Date Location Time To Register
Mon., Jan. 23 KCE 6:30 pm

Click here to sign up.

Tues., Jan 24 NCCE 6:30 pm
Thurs., Jan 26 GML 6:30pm
Sun., Jan 29 AE 4:00 pm

 

BEAUTIFUL AND SUSTAINABLE LAWNS - A GREENER YARD

You can have a sustainable lawn by learning good practices and using them all year. It will save time and money as well as reduce impact to the environment. Establishing a healthy stand of grass with good planning and sensible management means you’ll have a beautiful lawn and minimize issues with weeds, diseases and insects.

Date Location Time To Register
Wed., Feb. 1 NCCE 6:30 pm

Click here to sign up.

Mon. Feb. 6 KCE 6:30 pm
Thurs., Feb. 9 GML 6:30 pm
Sun., Feb. 12 AE 4:00 pm

 

TOTALLY TOMATOES

Proper planning is the key to ultimately enjoying the taste of your own home-grown tomatoes. We'll discuss proven tips and techniques for successfully growing America’s most popular garden vegetable (or is it a fruit?). Get ready for tomato sandwiches all summer long!

Date Location Time To Register
Thurs., Feb. 16 GML 6:30 pm

Click here to sign up.

Sun., Feb. 19 AE 4:00 pm
Mon., Feb. 20 KCE 6:30 pm
Wed., Feb. 22 NCCE 6:30 pm

 

FLOWERING TREES AND SHRUBS

In spring, Piedmont gardeners can really appreciate the extended bloom-time we enjoy by making the most of flowering trees and shrubs. Please join us to discuss selection, installation, and maintenance of these special and versatile plants. We will focus on those plants that do especially well in our growing conditions.

Date Location Time To Register
Fri., Feb. 24 KCE 12:00 pm

Click here to sign up.

Tues., Feb. 28 NCCE 6:30 pm
Thurs., Mar. 2 GML 6:30 pm
Sun., Mar. 5 AE 4:00 pm

 

GROW YOUR BEST VEGETABLE GARDEN

Learn the best practices for best results in your vegetable garden, including: soil preparation, selection and timing of vegetable varieties, and using integrated pest management techniques to control insects and diseases organically. Growing your own food can be economical and enjoyable!

Date Location Time To Register
Mon. Mar. 6 KCE 6:30 pm

Click here to sign up.

Thurs., Mar. 9 GML 6:30 pm
Sun., Mar. 12 AE 4:00 pm
Tues., Mar. 14 NCCE 6:30 pm

 

PERENNIALS WITH PIZZAZZ

With a little information and good selection, gardeners can enjoy a wide variety of blooming perennial plants. When we know and meet their needs they will thrive as the stars of an abundant flower garden! Perennials come back every year, and help us enjoy a more beautiful and diverse landscape.

Date Location Time To Register
Mon., Mar. 20 KCE 6:30 pm

Click here to sign up.

Thurs., Mar. 23 GML 6:30 pm
Sun., Mar. 26 AE 4:00 pm
Tues., Mar. 28 NCCE 6:30 pm

 

MADE IN THE SHADE - GREAT GARDENS IN LOWER LIGHT

An abundance of large, canopy trees and shady areas in the yard is a challenge to the creative gardener, but doesn't have to be an obstacle. Shade gardening doesn’t have to be frustrating! We’ll discuss a variety of shrubs, annuals, perennials, and woodland plants that will brighten and add color to your shady retreat.

Date Location Time To Register
Mon., Apr. 3 KCE 6:30 pm

Click here to sign up.

Thurs., Apr. 6 GML 6:30 pm
Sun., Apr. 9 AE 4:00 pm
Tues., Apr. 11 NCCE 6:30 pm

 

EASY TO GROW CULINARY HERBS

Some of us already grow basil, oregano, and thyme. But what about stevia, sage, or lemon grass? By knowing the characteristics of a vareity plants, you can have lots of fresh herbs to use year round. Join us to talk about being successful at growing the herbs you want to use in your kitchen.

Date Location Time To Register
Mon., Apr. 10 KCE 6:30 pm

Click here to sign up.

Thurs., Apr. 20 GML 6:30 pm
Sun., Apr. 23 AE 4:00 pm
Tues., Apr. 25 NCCE 6:30 pm

 

Registration

Click here to register for any and all of these classes.


Growing the Green Way is a cooperative project of Greensboro Beautiful, Guilford County Cooperative Extension, Guilford County Master Gardeners, and the City of Greensboro.