Growing the Green Way

Want to learn more about gardening? These free classes address a number of topics -- from growing produce to creating a more sustainable lawn. Classes are offered at four locations:

Cooperative Extension Office (NCCE), 3309 Burlington Road
Glenn McNairy Branch Library (GML), 4860 Lake Jeanette Road
Greensboro Arboretum Building (AE), 401 Ashland Drive
Edwards Family Library (KCE), 1420 Price Park Road

Pre-registration is requested. Programs are designed to be approximately one hour long but may run slightly over depending on questions and discussion - which are encouraged! For more information, contact Lauren Taubert at 336-641-2400, or lauren_taubert@bncsu.edu.

Spring 2019 Classes

Planning the 3-Season Vegetable Garden

Vegetable gardening is especially rewarding in the Piedmont because we can grow food at least 10 months of the year! The key is good planning and succession planting. January is the perfect time to start getting ready; let’s talk about the simple ways to get the most out of your personal planting space.

Date Time Location

Click here to register

Tues., Jan. 8 6:30 pm NCCE
Thur., Jan. 10 6:30 pm GML
Mon., Jan. 14 6:30 pm KCE
Sun., Jan 20 4:00 pm AE

 

Proper Pruning Prevents Poor Plant Performance

The art of pruning does not mean shearing shrubs into green meatballs (yikes!). Our discussion will cover the tools, techniques, and especially the timing for pruning small ornamental trees and shrubs. Doing it right (and only as needed) is the easy way to have healthier, prettier, and longer‐lived plants. Please Note: this program does not cover the specific pruning needs of fruit trees.

Date Time Location

Click here to register

Tues., Jan 22 6:30 pm NCCE
Thurs., Jan 24 6:30 pm GML
Sun., Jan. 27 4:00 pm AE
Mon., Jan 28 6:30 pm KCE

 

Totally Tomatoes! All About Our Favorite Fruit

Planning is the key to enjoying the taste of your own home-grown tomatoes - and now is the time to start. That’s all we’ll be talking about in this session – proven tips and techniques for successfully growing America’s most popular garden vegetable (or is it a fruit?). Get ready for tomato sandwiches all summer long!

Date Time Location

Click here to register

Tues, Feb. 5 6:30 pm NCCE
Thurs., Feb. 7 6:30 pm GML
Sun., Feb. 10 4:00 pm AE
Wed., Feb. 13 6:30 pm KCE

 

Beautiful and Sustainable Lawns -- A Greener Yard

You can have a sustainable lawn by knowing and using good growing practices all year. It will save you time and money as well as reduce environmental impact. Establish a healthy stand of grass with good planning and sensible management - you’ll have a beautiful lawn and minimize issues with weeds and diseases.

Date Time Location

Click here to register

Thurs., Feb. 14 6:30 pm GML
Mon., Feb. 18 6:30 pm KCE
Tues., Feb. 19 6:30 pm NCCE
Sun., Feb. 24 4:00 pm AE

 

Grow Your Best Vegetable Garden

Learning and following best practices leads to best results in your vegetable garden. Topics will include how to prepare soil, the selection and timing of vegetable varieties, good upkeep, and using integrated pest management techniques to control insects and diseases organically. Growing your own food can be economical, educational, and fun!

Date Time Location

Click here to register

Tues., Feb. 26 6:30 pm NCCE
Thurs., Feb. 28 6:30 pm GML
Sun., Mar. 3 4:00 pm AE
Mon., Mar. 4 6:30 pm KCE

 

Made in the Shade: Great Gardens in Lower Light

An abundance of large trees and shady areas in the yard is just a challenge to the creative gardener, not an obstacle. Gardening in the shade doesn’t have to be frustrating! We’ll discuss a variety of shrubs, annuals, perennials, and woodland plants that will brighten and add color to your shady retreat.

Date Time Location

Click here to register

Tues., Mar. 12 6:30 pm NCCE
Thurs., Mar. 14 6:30 pm GML
Sun., Mar. 17 4:00 pm AE
Mon., Mar. 18 6:30 pm KCE

 

Back Yard Habitat: Gardening For (and in spite of) Wildlife

One of the many joys of gardening is the chance to observe and support nature. Birds, butterflies, and other creatures find needed habitat in our yards – this program is about how to make them welcome. We’ll also talk about some ways to discourage a few of the uninvited guests who may sometimes come to the party.

Date Time Location

Click here to register

Tues., Mar. 26 6:30 pm NCCE
Thurs., Mar. 28 6:30 pm GML
Sun., Mar. 31 4:00 pm AE
Mon., Apr. 8 6:30 pm KCE

 

Flower Pot Food: Growing Herbs & Vegetables in Containers

If you have limited space, sun, or time - a set of containers can be a wonderfully productive garden space. Grow some of your own vegetables and herbs to eat better and also save on your food budget! We'll cover all the basics of the best ways to do it: with the right location, good timing, an easy plan, and a little tending.

Date Time Location

Click here to register

Tues., Apr. 9 6:30 pm NCCE
Thurs., Apr. 11 6:30 pm GML
Sun., Apr. 14 4:00 pm AE
Wed., Apr. 17 6:30 pm KCE

 

Culinary Herbs

Eat healthier and tastier with home-grown culinary herbs from your garden or containers! We can grow parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme – and the pizza herbs like basil and oregano – and many more. By knowing the characteristics of the plants, you can have fun growing the herbs you want to use in your kitchen.

Date Time Location

Click here to register

Mon., Apr. 22 6:30 pm KCE
Tues., Apr. 23 6:30 pm NCCE
Thurs., Apr. 25 6:30 pm GML
Sun., Apr. 28 4:00 pm AE

This class series is coordinated by the NC Cooperative Extension Service in Guilford County and Guilford County Master Gardeners, with assistance from the City of Greensboro and Greensboro Beautiful.