Growing the Green Way

Want to learn more about gardening? These free classes address a number of topics -- from growing produce to creating a more sustainable lawn. Classes are offered at four locations:

Cooperative Extension Office (NCCE), 3309 Burlington Road
Glenn McNairy Branch Library (GML), 4860 Lake Jeanette Road
Greensboro Arboretum Building (AE), 401 Ashland Drive
Edwards Family Library (KCE), 1420 Price Park Road

Pre-registration is requested. Programs are designed to be approximately one hour long but may run slightly over depending on questions and discussion - which are encouraged! For more information, contact Lauren Taubert at 336-641-2400, or lauren_taubert@bncsu.edu.

Fall 2019 Classes

Extending the Harvest: The Vegetable Garden in Fall

August is the prime time to plan and plant for your garden’s third productive season! Vegetable gardening for the year does not have to end with tomatoes and cucumbers - let’s talk timing, to maximize your garden’s yield with fall and even winter crops. We’ll also discuss season extenders and other tips and techniques to keep your garden growing well past the first frost.

Date Time Location

Click here to register

Mon., Aug. 12 6:30 pm KCE
Thurs., Aug. 15 6:30 pm GML
Sun., Aug. 18 4:00 pm AE
Tues., Aug. 20 6:30 pm NCCE

 

Beautiful and Sustainable Lawns - A Greener Yard

In the Piedmont, rejuvenating lawns is best done in fall. Knowing and using good growing practices all year also saves you time and money, and reduces environmental impact. Establishing a healthy stand of grass now with good planning and sensible management will minimize issues with weeds and diseases in the future - you can have a beautiful healthy lawn and also reduce the impact and expense of lawn chemicals.

Date Time Location

Click here to register

Mon., Aug. 26 6:30 pm KCE
Thurs., Aug. 29 6:30 pm GML
Tues., Sept. 3 6:30 pm NCCE
Sun., Sept. 8 4:00 pm AE

 

Fall is for Gardening! What Should I Do Now?

Fall is an outstanding season for gardening in the Piedmont! This is the perfect time for planting and transplanting, as well as for starting fall-flowering containers - after the long hot summer, cooler temperatures make it easier on the plants and on the gardener too. Simple seasonal chores like winterizing tools are also on the to-do list, to help you be prepared for future gardening seasons.

Date Time Location

Click here to register

Mon., Sept. 9 6:30 pm KCE
Thurs., Sept. 12 6:30 pm GML
Sun., Sept. 15 4:00 pm AE
Tues., Sept. 17 6:30 pm NCCE

 

Fabulous Flowering Perennials for the Piedmont

Fall is the ideal time to plant; and that’s especially true for flowering perennials - warm soil and cool air temps make September and October the best time to plant them. We’ll talk about a wide variety of blooming plants that will do well for us when we know and meet their needs. Perennials are the stars of any flower garden, large or small, and help us to enjoy a more beautiful and diverse landscape.

Date Time Location

Click here to register

Mon., Sept. 23 6:30 pm KCE
Thurs., Sept. 26 6:30 pm GML
Sun., Sept. 29 4:00 pm AE
Tues., Oct. 1 6:30 pm NCCE

 

Flowering Trees and Shrubs

Piedmont gardeners are blessed with a bountiful bloom season each spring, and especially since there are so many wonderful varieties of flowering trees and shrubs that succeed here. Fall is the best time to install these special and versatile plants, because it gives them three seasons to establish a strong root system before having to handle the stress of summer’s heat. Our discussion will feature those that do especially well in our local growing conditions.

Date Time Location

Click here to register

Thurs., Oct. 10 6:30 pm GML
Sun., Oct. 13 4:00 pm AE
Tues., Oct. 15 6:30 pm NCCE
Mon., Oct. 21 6:30 pm KCE

 

Composting and Vermicomposting

What to do with all those leaves? Let’s talk rot! Composting is a great way to recycle, and it also produces a fantastic organic amendment that improves the texture and fertility of your soil and helps everything grow better. We will discuss a few ways to start composting in your own backyard, and what should and shouldn’t be composted. We’ll also go over the easy steps for having a successful “worm bin” at home.

Date Time Location

Click here to register

Thurs., Oct. 24 6:30 pm GML
Sun., Oct. 27 4:00 pm AE
Tues., Oct. 29 6:30 pm NCCE
Mon., Nov. 4 6:30 pm KCE

This class series is coordinated by the NC Cooperative Extension Service in Guilford County and Guilford County Master Gardeners, with assistance from the City of Greensboro and Greensboro Beautiful.